Meet Dawn

2013-06-29 14.20.51

My name is Dawn.  My interest in mental health stems from working closely with people in the criminal justice system with mental illnesses and substance abuse.   I  would describe myself as a people’s person and I enjoy listening to people’s stories, which was my main motivation to train as  a counsellor.   Previously I taught ESOL I noticed even in that role, learners would often tell me their problems and concerns.   I see myself as someone that tries to help and support others wherever possible.

At some point in our lives, any one of us might have (or will) encounter a situation that challenges our mental health, which is why it is so important to speak about it.  Although it is still very much a stigma in society, particularly in African and Caribbean communities. I would like to engage others in conversations about mental health in the hope that it might go some way to bringing the subject out in the open.

Leave a Reply

